Topic: Computed Tomography resolution increase along Z axis from FIB-SEM

Hi folks,

This is a little off topic but I hope someone can help.  I am a student studying a PhD in Nuclear Materials Characterisation.  One of the avenues of research is using a focused ion beam to cut samples in slices, collect an image of each slice with a scanning electron microscope and reconstruct the tomographic stack into a 3D model which we can conduct experiments on using a physics simulation package.

There is one problem with this.  I am currently cutting slices 50 nm apart, my resolution per pixel on the X and Y axis is roughly 3 nm.  Therefore I have X and Y axis pixels of a high resolution and Z axis pixels of a low resolution.  This makes my voxels elongated and cuboidal.  In order to even up this situation I need to add extra images to fill in that 50 nm gap between slices.  I have used a blend tool but this fades between images ghosting features between slices.  This isn't representative of my samples.  I need something that will predict the change between images more intelligently.

This is where frame interpolation comes in.  If I am able to use frame interpolation to predict the change between my slices then I would produce a much more representative set of filler images to generate a 3D model.  Is it possible to use a stack of .tiff file images with this software?  Could I create an animation of the images I have, increase the frame rate using this software and then extract the frames as image files?  Does anyone know a good tool to interpolate more than two images together (I have stacks of roughly 200 to 300 images)?

I know this isn't the usual use for this sort of software but I do feel like it could be extremely useful to the scientific community if it could be applied.

Many thanks for your consideration.

2 (edited by dlr5668 19-06-2019 11:23:30)

Re: Computed Tomography resolution increase along Z axis from FIB-SEM